Someone, somewhere has added the info(at) mways.co.uk email address to a UK spam list which they're selling around. As noone seems to tell me where they're coming from, I thought I should publish the email addresses of the people who are scraping my email address without permission or who have bought my name on a list along with the subject of their email to me.

ebulletin@hemsleyfraser.co.uk - PRINCE2 Foundation & Practitioner - great price

duncan@emailmovers.com - Exclusive Moss discount voucher (email hidden, no obvious contact method)

noreply@business-scene.co.uk - London Connections - Only 4 days to go!

This is an interesting one. The email is being sent by a company 'Newzapp' sending bulk mails on behalf of this company "business-scene.co.uk". The interesting thing is the details in this registrant's Whois record:

Registrant: Inspire Events

Registrant type: UK Individual

Registrant's address: The registrant is a non-trading individual who has opted to have their address omitted from the WHOIS service.

I think I'll report this one to Nominet!

And here's another similar one today (30/9/2009)

info@beattheheat.co.uk - Beat the credit crunch 20% off air conditioning installations

This is again sent by another company "openwateronline.co.uk" which is registered to "Philip Hansen" again listed as a "non-trading individual" at Nominet with no listed registrant address or contact details. To be fair, it's possible that this may just be the default setting from the domain registration company (1and1) and not necessarily any deliberate attempt to deceive, but still it looks a bit suspicious.

Tel: 020 8680 1668 All Rights Reserved. Site Map. Copyright © 2000-2010 Mysterious Ways.